Canadian Self Employment Program

April 2, 2008 at 12:43 am Leave a comment

I have NOT been working on my business plan. Nope. Not me. No sir.

You see… I came across the Self Employment Program offered by the government of Canada in which they provide “financial assistance to eligible individuals to help them create jobs for themselves by starting a business.”

It sounds good right? While the details are a little scarce online, it sounds like Service Canada will allow you to earn additional funds over and above EI payouts during a self employment program. In other words, EI payouts will continue as long as you are adhering to the Self Employment contract you establish. Perfect. That sounds right up my alley.

Unfortunately, as may be all too typical in government, you cannot start creating a business plan until after you get accepted into the program (which sounds like it could be a couple of week thing). If you start creating a plan prior to acceptance, you may be deemed ineligible for the program. Right now, I have a meeting set up with a “back-to-work” case worker on Thursday. From trolling through some discussions, it sounds like I have to get the case worker to suggest that this might be a good idea for me to pursue. I just can’t say I have started a plan or say exactly what I am going to do… Which actually is a good thing because I don’t know exactly yet. I mean …¬†my plan is only half way written I am a blank canvas awaiting the suggestions of my case worker.

I will keep you posted as

Entry filed under: Business Planning.

Startup Incubator to Launch in Maple Ridge, BC? Massive Technology Show, Networking, Domain Names, etc.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


