Canadian Government Self Employment Program

April 17, 2008 at 8:41 pm Leave a comment

The world is full of good intentions. The Canadian Government’s Self Employment Program is proof of that. I had hoped to explore this as an option to supplement my income while I am building out my startup. Basically, the government allows you to continue to earn your EI benefits (decreasing down to approx. $300) for a duration while making self employment income. But here’s the catch… you have to go through a 2-month program in which instructors teach you how to write a business plan and then they work on your marketing and business operational abilities.

The next opening for entry into the program is the end of May. I wouldn’t come out of the program until July. Officially, I shouldn’t be starting the business until after completing the program. That’s three months of sitting still… and waiting.

I am not trying to sound elitist by any means. But I don’t think the program is for me. I mean, part of the services that I am going to be offering as part of some consulting is help in writing business plans. And I think I have a pretty good idea about marketing. As I said, the world is full of good intentions and for some, I am sure the program would be very good. The instructor who gave the brief seemed quite knowledgable and personable.

Entry filed under: Ramblings.

Wireless Startups and Entrepreneurism in Vancouver Companies to Watch: Alten Energy, PerfectMIND, Calgoo Software

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


