The Golden Ears Gateway, Maple Ridge BC

October 24, 2008 at 1:59 am 1 comment

I attended the Ridge Meadows Chamber of Commerce’s mini-tradeshow and networking event tonight. It was mostly a chance to get ou of the house after being headsdown busy for the past couple of days, but I have been trying to make a point on keeping connected within the business community (though normally I attend events that are in downtown… not out here in Maple Ridge).

Anyhow, one of the things that attracted me to the event tonight was to hear a speech by the President, Dean Barbour, on the Chamber’s current direction and mandate. While I won’t regurgitate, I did like what I heard. One of the key things that resonated with me was Dean’s vision and discussion of “The Golden Ears Gateway”. Basically, anything that is within site of the Golden Ears Mountains, should be within the marketing catchment of the Chamber and local businesses. And a big part of the growth will be in using the new website to promote the region and its businesses.

And then Dean announced, “The Chamber website will be re-branded under www.openforbusinessmrpm.com

I don’t know if Dean or anyone else in the room saw me convulsively twitch when this was announced. Pardon? That was “Open For Business Maple Ridge Pitt Meadows .com” in case you missed it the first time. Part of me almost feels bad for going home and registering GoldenEarsGateway.com. I guess this now complements the other local domain I registered the other day: http://www.MyMapleRidge.com

Me thinks I am going to get involved with the Chamber and help them with their marketing.

Entry filed under: domain names, Events & Networking, marketing. Tags: , , , .

Using Meetup Profiles to Boost Your Search Ranking Paid Search Advertising Course in Maple Ridge?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dean Barbour  |  January 22, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Hey John,

    Great to know that people are motivated by our work. I missed the convulsion : ), I just checked the receipts and I am sure that I own both goldenearsgateway.ca and .com… …

    Anyways, great insight in the blog and my door is alwys open to discuss business in the region.

    Talk to you soon…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


